Let’s Talk About Goodreads Recommendations

books burning

I know it’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted. Sorry I haven’t been able to keep all six or seven of you occupied for the last month.

Probably the biggest thing that’s happened to me recently is the willing deactivation of my Facebook account. It’s been tough as all heck quitting cold turkey, but seriously it’s been for the best. I’ve been writing more (personal stuff), reading more (currently the ever-funny Lamb by Christopher Moore), and just trying hard to be an all-around better and more productive person. Seriously, I recommend quitting Facebook to everyone (Zuckerberg has enough money).

Now the majority of my time on the internet is spent on Goodreads.

Let me tell ya, trying to get recommendations for future reading is a lot more effort than it sounds. You have to rate all of the books you’ve read on a five-star scale, tell them what genres you like the best, and accept or reject the recommendations they give you.

And let me tell ya another thing: I’ve had to reject quite a few recommendations. I feel like the recommendations are based not on personal preference, but on what is popular with the majority of their users.

And according to the average ratings, I’m able to deduce that the majority of Goodreads users must be Alice’s-Adventures-in-Hogwarts-teenage-girls and 50-Shades-of-Smut-women.

This is my impression of a Goodreads recommendation:

Oh, your 5-star rated books are all by Vonnegut, Heller, Salinger and Stoppard? You say you like satirical books and modern classics? Whatever…

Oh you read Perks of Being a Wallflower in high school? Doesn’t matter that you rated it only 3 stars, here’s a whole bunch of John Green books you’ll love! Oh and have you read The Hunger Games yet? HARRY POTTER!!!

Seriously?

Also what’s up with some awesome books having less-than-awesome average ratings? Seriously, who’s giving Catcher in the RyeA Farewell to Arms and Catch-22 one star? I bet the same people who gave these books one star gave five stars to Divergent and all of Nora Roberts’ books.

Moral of the story: if you’re on Goodreads, read every review with caution. If a reviewer with a girl’s name and a mockingjay pin profile picture gives a Tom Clancy book one star, maybe don’t listen to that review.

-T

One thought on “Let’s Talk About Goodreads Recommendations

Leave a comment